Pennsylvania Ignition Interlock Laws

 When is an Interlock Device Required in PA?

Under Pennsylvania DUI laws, if you are convicted of a second offense DUI charge, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle you drive, when you are eligible to have your driver’s license reinstated.

Note that these laws are subject to change. There is an aggressive effort by lawmakers in Pennsylvania to follow suit with other states that require an ignition interlock after any DUI, even a first offense. 

What is an Ignition Interlock Device?

An IID is an electronic instrument that connects to your car’s ignition as a “rolling breathalyzer”. You must blow into the device to establish that you have not been drinking, or your car will not be allowed to start, and a failure will be logged in the system. It detects the equivalent of a .025% BAC, or about one drink for an average sized person. (the legal limit is .08%).

When Do I have to Get One?

If you have a 2nd offense Pennsylvania DUI, after being convicted you will first have to serve a full 1 year license suspension with no ability to drive.

When your suspension period is up, you will be eligible for a limited license which requires use of the ignition interlock to legally drive, for the following 1 year.

How Do I Get The Device?

When your license suspension period is up, you should be notified by mail, or contact PennDot to confirm your eligibility and get the necessary paperwork to process your ignition interlock (II) license.

Official IID installers (subject to change) approved by PennDot Include:

If you find yourself facing a second offense Pennsylvania DUI charge, and are concerned about what could happen to you, license loss, and ignition interlock requirements, please call us today.

We understand Pennsylvania’s tough DUI laws, and are experienced in  fighting and winning DUI cases. Our case evaluations are comprehensive, and you’ll understand what you are facing, and be prepared to make smart decisions in your defense. Call now to take advantage!  (888) 412-3298.

Our experienced Pennsylvania criminal defense attorneys represent clients facing criminal charges and DUI / Drunk Driving accusations across all of Pennsylvania.  Out attorneys are in Pittsburgh, and the Pittsburgh metro area of western PA and Allegheny County, and across eastern Pennsylvania, including Philadelphia, Harrisburg, Lebanon, Carlisle and Lancaster, and in Bucks, Montgomery, Northampton, and Lehigh Counties. Call anytime, there’s no obligation!

 

Please Share!Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone

Free Legal Consultation

Contact me for a free legal case evaluation on any criminal charge by calling:

image description (888) 412-3298

Receive our free legal defense consultation and case evaluation.

Contact Us



 

By checking this box and clicking "Submit", you agree the phone number you provided above may be used to contact you (including autodialed, pre-recorded calls, artificial voice calls and/or SMS text). Consent is not a requirement to submitting this request.