Pennsylvania Ignition Interlock Laws
When is an Interlock Device Required in PA?
Under Pennsylvania DUI laws, if you are convicted of a
second offense DUI charge, you will be required to install an
ignition interlock device in any vehicle you drive, when you are
eligible to have your driver's license reinstated.
Note that these laws are subject to change. There is an
aggressive effort by lawmakers in Pennsylvania to follow suit with
other states that require an ignition interlock after any DUI,
even a first offense.
More Pa Interlock News.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
An IID is an electronic instrument that connects to your
car's ignition as a "rolling breathalyzer". You must blow into the
device to establish that you have not been drinking, or your car
will not be allowed to start, and a failure will be logged in the
system. It detects the equivalent of a .025% BAC, or about one drink
for an average sized person. (the legal limit is .08%).
When Do I have to Get One?
If you have a 2nd offense Pennsylvania DUI, after being convicted
you will first have to serve a full 1 year license suspension
with no ability to drive.
When your suspension period is up, you will be eligible for a
limited license which requires use of the ignition interlock to
legally drive, for the following 1 year.
How Do I Get The Device?
When your license suspension period is up, you should be notified
by mail, or contact
PennDot to confirm your eligibility and get the necessary
paperwork to process your ignition interlock (II) license.
Official IID installers (subject to change) approved by PennDot
If you find yourself facing a second offense Pennsylvania DUI charge,
and are concerned about what could happen to you, license loss, and
ignition interlock requirements, please call us today.
We understand Pennsylvania's tough DUI laws, and are experienced
fighting and winning DUI cases. Our case evaluations are
comprehensive, and you'll understand what you are facing, and be
prepared to make smart decisions in your defense. Call now to take
advantage! (888) 412-3298.
Our experienced Pennsylvania criminal
defense attorneys represent clients facing criminal charges
and DUI / Drunk Driving accusations across all of Pennsylvania.
Out attorneys are in Pittsburgh, and the Pittsburgh metro area of
western PA and Allegheny County, and across eastern Pennsylvania, including Philadelphia, Harrisburg,
Lebanon, Carlisle and Lancaster, and in Bucks, Montgomery, Northampton, and Lehigh Counties. Call
anytime, there's no